

Agenda

Meeting: Scrutiny of Health Committee

Venue: Grand Committee Room, County Hall,

Northallerton, DL7 8AD

Date: Friday 21 June 2019 at 10.00 am

Recording is allowed at County Council, committee and sub-committee meetings which are open to the public, subject to:- (i) the recording being conducted under the direction of the Chairman of the meeting; and (ii) compliance with the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at meetings, a copy of which is available to download below. Anyone wishing to record must contact, prior to the start of the meeting, the Officer whose details are at the foot of the first page of the Agenda. Any recording must be clearly visible to anyone at the meeting and be non-disruptive. http://democracy.northyorks.gov.uk/

Business

1. Minutes of the Scrutiny of Health Committee held on 15 March 2019

(Pages 5 to 12)

- 2. Declarations of Interest
- 3. Chairman's Announcements Any correspondence, communication or other business brought forward by the direction of the Chairman of the Committee.

(FOR INFORMATION ONLY)

Public Questions or Statements

Members of the public may ask questions or make statements at this meeting if they have given notice to Daniel Harry, Principal Scrutiny Officer (*contact details below*) no later than midday on Tuesday 18 June 2019. Each speaker should limit himself/herself to 3 minutes on any item. Members of the public who have given notice will be invited to speak:-

- at this point in the meeting if their questions/statements relate to matters which are not otherwise on the Agenda (subject to an overall time limit of 30 minutes);
- when the relevant Agenda item is being considered if they wish to speak on a matter which is on the Agenda for this meeting.

5. **Scarborough Acute Service review** – update on proposals for the provision of a sustainable surgery rota at the hospital - REPORT – Simon Cox, Director of Acute Commissioning, North Yorkshire CCGs.

(Pages 13 to 18)

6. **Building a Sustainable Future for the Friarage Hospital, Northallerton** – update on changes - REPORT – Simon Cox, Director of Acute Commissioning, North Yorkshire CCGs, Dr Adrian Clements, South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, Lucy Tulloch, Service Manager, Friarage Hospital.

(Pages 19 to 30)

7. **Decommissioning of the minor injury service in GP practices in the HRW CCG** area – rationale, impact and mitigation - REPORT - Lisa Pope, Hambleton Richmondshire and Whitby CCG and Simon Cox, Director of Acute Commissioning, North Yorkshire CCGs.

(Pages 31 to 32)

8. Protocol for co-ordination of work between the Health and Wellbeing Board and Overview and Scrutiny – REPORT - Daniel Harry, Democratic Services and Scrutiny Manager, North Yorkshire County Council

(Pages 33 to 34)

9. **Patient Transport Service – changes to the application of eligibility criteria** – BRIEFING NOTE FOR INFORMATION - update on implementation of changes and response to issues raised by the Scrutiny of Health Committee

(Pages 35 to 37)

 Work Programme – REPORT - Daniel Harry, Democratic Services and Scrutiny Manager. North Yorkshire County Council

(Pages 38 to 42)

11. Other business which the Chairman agrees should be considered as a matter of urgency because of special circumstances.

Barry Khan Assistant Chief Executive (Legal and Democratic Services) County Hall Northallerton

12 June 2019

NOTES:

(a) Members are reminded of the need to consider whether they have any interests to declare on any of the items on this agenda and, if so, of the need to explain the reason(s) why they have any interest when making a declaration.

A Democratic Services Officer or the Monitoring Officer will be pleased to advise on interest issues. Ideally their views should be sought as soon as possible and preferably prior to the day of the meeting, so that time is available to explore adequately any issues that might arise.

(b) Emergency Procedures For Meetings

Fire

The fire evacuation alarm is a continuous Klaxon. On hearing this you should leave the building by the nearest safe fire exit. From the **Grand Meeting Room** this is the main entrance stairway. If the main stairway is unsafe use either of the staircases at the end of the corridor. Once outside the building please proceed to the fire assembly point outside the main entrance.

Persons should not re-enter the building until authorised to do so by the Fire and Rescue Service or the Emergency Co-ordinator.

An intermittent alarm indicates an emergency in nearby building. It is not necessary to evacuate the building but you should be ready for instructions from the Fire Warden.

Accident or Illness

First Aid treatment can be obtained by telephoning Extension 7575.

Scrutiny of Health Committee

1. Membership

County Councillors (13)									
	Counc	Councillors Name Chair		Chairmai Chairmai		Political Group	Electoral Division		
1	ARNO	LD, Val				Conservative	Kirkbymoorside		
2	BARRE	ETT, Philip				NY Independe	nts South Craven		
3	CLARK, Jim					Conservative	Harrogate Harlow		
4	COLLING, Liz			Vice-Cha	irman	Labour	Falsgrave and Stepney		
5		ENNIS, John Chairmai			Oatlands				
6	HOBS	HOBSON, Mel			Conservative	Sherburn in Elmet			
7	MANN, John					Conservative	Harrogate Central		
8	METCALFE, Zoe					Conservative	Knaresborough		
9	MOORHOUSE, Heather					Conservative	Great Ayton		
10	PEARSON, Chris					Conservative	Mid Selby		
11	SOLLOWAY, Andy					Independent	Skipton West		
12	SWIEF	SWIERS, Roberta				Conservative	Hertford and Cayton		
13	WINDASS, Robert					Conservative	Boroughbridge		
Members other than County Councillors – (7) Voting									
	Name of Member Representation								
1	HARDISTY, Kevin				Hambleton DC				
2	SHAW WRIGHT, Jennifer				Selby DC				
3	CLARK, John				Ryedale DC				
4	TUCKER, Sue				Scarborough BC				
5	IRETON, David				Craven DC				
6	BLACKIE, John				Richmondshire DC				
7	MIDDLEMASS, Nigel				Harrogate BC				
Tota	al Memb	pership – (20	0)		Quorum – (4)				
(Con	Lib Dem	NY Ind	Labour	Ind	Total			
10		0	1	1	1	13			

2. Substitute Members

Conservative		NY	NY Independents			
	Councillors Names		Councillors Names			
1	BASTIMAN, Derek	1				
2	WILKINSON, Annabel	2				
3	MARTIN, Stuart MBE	3				
4	TROTTER, Cliff	4				
5	DUNCAN, Keane	5				
Labour						
	Councillors Names					
1	BROADBENT, Eric					
	·		Substitute Members other than County Councillors			
		1	VACANCY	(Hambleton DC)		
		2	VACANCY	(Selby DC)		
		3	KEAL, Dinah	(Ryedale DC)		
		4	MORTIMER, Jane (Scarborough BC)			
		5	HULL, Wendy	(Craven DC)		
		6	MIDDLEMISS, Pat (Richmondshire DC)			
		7	VACANCY	(Harrogate BC)		